It’s My Breakfast: Mango Peach Cobbler

Mango Peach Cobbler with Milk

Mango Peach Cobbler with Milk

I can hear it now: “You can’t eat cobbler for breakfast!”

Oh yeah? Watch me.

Mangoes are bountiful and ripe in the local produce markets, and these are one of my favourite tropical treats. June is Mango Month, and there are tons of ways to play with this delicious and sexy fruit in your kitchen. The flesh is firm and juicy, with a subtle flavour and an aroma that has hints of nutmeg. Mangoes come in several varieties and are available year-round. If the mangoes at the store are rock hard, pop them in a paper bag and let them rest on the counter for a day or two. Ripe ones smell like. . . well, mangoes, and are very slightly soft.

The tropical and subtropical climates of the world are the best places to grow mangoes. India produces more than half of the world’s crop, but mangos found in most North American markets come from Mexico and South America. I purchased Atulfo mangoes: cute and yellow, a bit smaller than their cousins, but just as delicious. They’re also loaded with nutrients (lots of fiber and over 20 vitamins and minerals). Mangoes can be pickled, dried, pureed, juiced, canned, or frozen.  Keep mango chunks in your freezer (up to 6 months) to use in smoothies—they compliment just about any kind of fruit.

Mango Seed

In the center of the mango is a long flat hard seed covered in coarse fuzz (seen at left above). Stand the mango on its fat end and you’ll see it tapers toward the top on either side. Place the blade of your knife a bit off center and slice off one side, then the other.  You can feel a bit of resistance when you get too close to the seed. I use the tip of a knife to cut diagonal slashes in the flesh, then turn the mangoes out so the cubes of fruit stick up. It looks cool, and you get lovely chunks of mango easily. There’s more than one way to peel a mango. Watch this video from the National Mango Board to learn more.

Cutting Mangoes
I use chunky mango in salads, salsa, and stir-fry as well as desserts (or in this case, breakfast). Usually I make cobbler with berries, but I had this can of peaches layin’ around and figured maybe the peaches and mangoes might enjoy each other’s company.

Cobbler is an extremely versatile recipe, and so easy to throw together with just about any kind of fruit. This is a rustic and homey dessert. The topping falls somewhere between “cakey” and “cookie.” I like mine a bit coarse and packed with a lot of flavour.  Depending on the fruit I’m using, I’ll vary the ingredients a bit. You can find over 100 ways to use mangoes in recipes from the National Mango Board.

Mango-Peach Cobbler

Using fresh fruit is the best option, but frozen mango or peach is fine, and canned peaches will do well enough in a pinch. Unless you’re a purist (or lactose intolerant), please do enjoy a bit of milk, fresh cream, or ice cream with your dessert.

Prepare the Fruit

  • 2 ripe mangoes, diced
  • 1 can peach halves, drained and diced
  • 1/4 Cup sugar to sweeten if needed
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of fresh grated nutmeg
  • dash of salt

Mix the Cobble

  • 1 Cup flour
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1/2 C ground walnuts
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • grated nutmeg (about 1/4 tsp)
  • dash of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 tbs melted butter

Mix with a fork until combined. Sprinkle over fruit in a 9×9 pan.

Bake at 375° for about 35 minutes until topping is golden. Serve with ice cream or a glass of cold milk.

Mango Facts and More Fun:
Plant Cultures: Mango

Mango.org

12 responses to “It’s My Breakfast: Mango Peach Cobbler

  1. This sounds yummy. And I admire the way you take such pains to make cobbler. I just use the tried and true 1 cup method. You can’t forget the ingredients. 1 cup of everything and 1 stick of butter. Bake til done. Love you.

  2. Mmm… this sound super delicious! Great tip for keeping the mango chunks in a freezer!

  3. Curious pal! You changed your blog :0

    Oh, mango… I miss miss miss the taste. Very rarely found here, if so, expensive. So “exotic”. Still, seeing this fruit is lovely, because I tied memories with it. I tell you one: I’m working in New Delhi, India at the time. Staying in a village, walking in the neighborhood after I’m off. One small buffet and occasional passerby fruit seller men to buy stuff you need. Oh, and one restaurant! I’m sooo hungry. Mangoes in my sight. My first time tasting these goodies. Such a distinct flavor, I am about to pass out from goodness. Sense fest.
    .
    .
    By the way, I like how you placed food on plate right in mouth of lil curious kitty 😀

    -hug-

    • curiousdomestic

      Haha! Thank you! I love those plates for exactly that reason. It must have been really cool working in New Delhi. So exotic to me! Living in a city has brought all kinds of wonderful foods to my table. I wish I could send you mangoes!

  4. TasteStopping

    Hi Curious

    After Googling the keywords “tastespotting rejection,” I am getting in touch with you to let you know about a “blog” of sorts that I’ve started, called TasteStopping.com. It’s a place where those of us who have had our photographs declined from TasteSpotting, FoodGawker or PhotoGrazing can submit and have that same work published to help drive traffic to our sites. I hope you will check it out and give me your feedback, or more importantly your photos! The current home is: http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com (until the official site is up and running).

    I look forward to hearing (and seeing) from you soon!

    Thanks,

    Casey

    P.S. Thanks for the tips on dicing mangoes. They are pretty tricky! But well worth the effort.

    • curiousdomestic

      I think you’ve hit upon a very good niche for foodie photos. There are plenty of great cooks and good ideas that aren’t getting found through the other venues, just because food styling and photography aren’t their forte. I hope your efforts are fruitful (and cupcakeful and steakful, too!).

  5. Why are you eating out of the cat’s dish?

    • curiousdomestic

      Hey, it doesn’t have his name on it . . . and it was clean and loaded with cobbler.

  6. Variety of very delicious dessert and food

  7. Could I use your photo of a mango half and pit for an educational presentation on saving seeds? The presentation will be used for gardeners. Thanks for your consideration.

Leave a Reply

